MindHiatus

Hello, Quiet, Puny Blog. Time To Build You Up

In Uncategorized on August 3, 2012 at 8:57 AM

Well, I both forgot and ignored you. I’ve been writing and living and watching TV.

I haven’t been mindful of you. Although time has not been wasted, I now have plans for this space: WRITE A STORY A DAY.

I’ve found a handful of 30-day short shorts challenges (Tumblr calls them ‘drabbles’. Anyone?). In college, we were given them randomly in writing classes: write whatever we could then-and-there, then turn it in OR write whatever we could over the next 48 hours before turning in. Then we dissected them and were just awfully snarky and silly to each other (or we were just plain bored by what people wrote..and hey learned), all in the name of craft.

So I’ll probably write to my interests and inspirations:

  1. horror
  2. romance
  3. comedy
  4. LGBT
  5. quirky news

It’s really exercise time for small story muscles. Short shorts and medium-sized shorts. Give what I can on the day, post with a smile and a sense of immediate satisfaction, roll on.

I’ve tried reviewing books or writing about writing (just one post full of “why am I doing this?!” that I deleted into many deaths) or writing about my real life (which is a great source material but not consistently inspirational as a stare at my blog). Stops, starts, stops, starts. I’ve admired when people can fill blogs with all of the above. I read them but I do not build my own blog.

So back to what I like to do: write stories, exercise those small story muscles.

For the next thirty days, I shall write a short narrative/short short/drabble inspired by this list of words below, following the particular order:

beginning. accusation. restless. snowflake. haze. flame. formal. companion. move. silver. prepared. knowledge. denial. wind. order. thanks. look. summer. transformation. tremble. sunset. mad. thousand. outside. winter. diamond. letters. promise. simple. future.

First one coming later today. 🙂

I’ll write a new pieces within 48 hours, revise it however I can (until my brain no longer computes what I’m reading), then post, no excuses, no regrets…just later revisions.

Maybe I’ll do this next month and then the next and THEN…or, I’ll just see if I can follow this challenge first.

P.S.: PLEASE RECOMMEND some other week-long, 30-long, etc. challenges. Thanks!

P.S.S.: FEEL FREE to comment and be snarky, silly, or just plain bored on all future posts. They’re works in progress begging for attention. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

